Investor Centre


Board of Directors

The Sonic Healthcare Board of Directors is comprised of individuals experienced in public company management and stewardship. As a group, they bring to the company a broad skill base encompassing medical, financial, legal, management and corporate expertise. In view of the fact that Sonic Healthcare specialises in providing medical diagnostic services, the Board is committed to ensuring that its membership includes medical practitioners.

The current Board of Directors consists of four independent directors (including the Chairman), one of whom is a registered General Medical Practitioner, and three executive directors, including a pathologist and a radiologist.

Professor Mark Compton, AM


Non-executive, Independent Director, appointed October 2014 (Chairman from 19 November 2015)

Prof. Compton has extensive senior executive experience in healthcare services. He is currently Adjunct Professor in Management (Healthcare Leadership) at Macquarie Graduate School of Management, non-executive director of Macquarie University Hospital and Macquarie University Clinical Associates Ltd, Chairman and Chancellor of St John Ambulance Australia (having served as a volunteer for 38 years) and Chief Executive Officer of St Luke's Care. His previous experience includes Chief Executive Officer of Immune Systems Therapeutics Limited, National Chief Executive Officer of The Royal Flying Doctor Service of Australia, and Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director of the formerly ASX listed companies SciGen Limited and Alpha Healthcare Limited. He has also held a number of non-executive director roles including for formerly ASX-listed Independent Practitioner Network Limited and as Chairman of The Woolcock Institute of Medical Research. In recognition of his work in the healthcare sector and his service to the community, he was awarded the Centenary Medal of the Commonwealth of Australia, appointed a Knight in the Order of St John in 2004 and was appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in January 2010. He is a member of the Audit Committee and the Remuneration and Nomination Committee.

Dr Colin Goldschmidt


CEO and Managing Director
Executive Director, appointed January 1993

Dr Goldschmidt is the CEO and Managing Director of Sonic Healthcare. He is a qualified medical doctor who then undertook specialist pathology training in Sydney, before gaining his Specialist Pathologist qualification in 1986. Dr Goldschmidt practised for five years (1987-1992) as a histopathologist with Douglass Hanly Moir Pathology, Sonic’s first acquisition, prior to his appointment as CEO of both Sonic Healthcare and Douglass Hanly Moir Pathology. He is a member of numerous medical and pathology associations and a member of Sonic’s Risk Management Committee.

Christopher Wilks

B.Comm (Univ Melb), FAICD

Finance Director
Executive Director, appointed December 1989

Mr Wilks has a background in chartered accounting and investment banking. He was previously a partner in a private investment bank and has held directorships for a number of public companies. He is currently a director of Silex Systems Limited.

Dr Philip Dubois


Executive Director, appointed July 2001

Dr Dubois is CEO of Sonic Imaging, Chairman of the Sonic Imaging Executive Committee and is Chairman and CEO of Queensland X-Ray. A neuroradiologist and nuclear imaging specialist, he is currently an Associate Professor of Radiology at the University of Queensland Medical School. He has served on numerous government and craft group bodies, including the councils of the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Radiologists and the Australian Medical Association, and as Vice-President of the Australian Diagnostic Imaging Association. Dr Dubois is a non-executive director of Magnetica Limited.

Lou Panaccio


Non-executive, Independent Director, appointed June 2005

Mr Panaccio is a chartered accountant with strong management experience in business and healthcare services. He is currently on the boards of ASX listed companies Genera Biosystems Limited and Avita Medical Limited. Mr Panaccio is also Executive Chairman of Health Networks Australia, non-executive Chairman of the Inner East Community Health Service in Victoria and a non-executive director of Yarra Community Housing Limited. Mr Panaccio was the Chief Executive Officer and an executive director of Melbourne Pathology. Mr Panaccio is Chairman of the Audit Committee, a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee, and a member of the Risk Management Committee.

Kate Spargo


Non-executive, Independent Director, appointed July 2010

Ms Spargo has gained broad business experience as both a legal advisor, having worked in private practice and government, and as a director. Ms Spargo has been a non-executive director of both listed and unlisted companies over the last twenty years and her current directorships include the ASX listed companies Fletcher Building Limited, Adairs Limited, and Sigma Pharmaceuticals Limited. She is also a non-executive director of SMEC Limited, an engineering company with operations in around 40 countries, CoInvest Limited and Geelong Football Club Limited. Ms Spargo is Chair of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee and is a member of the Audit Committee.

Dr Jane Wilson


Non-executive, Independent Director, appointed July 2010

Dr Wilson is an independent non-executive director with a background in finance, banking and medicine. She is a registered General Medical Practitioner as well as a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD). Dr Wilson is currently a Guardian of the Future Fund, and a non-executive director of Transurban Group, Opal Aged Care and the General Sir John Monash Foundation. Dr Wilson is a member of the Institute for Molecular Bioscience Advisory Board and the Qld Arts Investment Advisory Board and is also on the boards of a number of cultural and charitable institutions. Dr Wilson was named in the inaugural 2012 AFR/Westpac Top 100 Women Awards in the Board/Management category and also received the Queensland AICD Gold Medal Award in 2016. She has a Masters degree in Business Administration from the Harvard Business School and a medical degree from the University of Queensland. Dr Wilson is Chairman of the Risk Management Committee and is a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee.

Paul Alexander

B.Ec, CA, F.Fin

Company Secretary

Mr Alexander has been the Deputy Chief Financial Officer of Sonic Healthcare Limited since 1997 and Sonic’s Company Secretary since 2001. Prior to joining Sonic, Mr Alexander gained 10 years experience in professional accounting practice, mainly with Price Waterhouse, and was also Financial Controller and Company Secretary of a subsidiary of a UK headquartered multinational company for two years.